News:

Actually sport it is a narrative

Main Menu

Dawkins Vs. Pell...Thoughts?

Started by Twentythree, April 10, 2012, 06:16:47 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Gawen

Pell is an idiot? I quit watching after his Hitler/Stalin social Darwinism comment.
The essence of the mind is not in what it thinks, but how it thinks. Faith is the surrender of our mind; of reason and our skepticism to put all our trust or faith in someone or something that has no good evidence of itself. That is a sinister thing to me. Of all the supposed virtues, faith is not.
"When you fall, I will be there" - Floor

Guardian85

It's because of people like Pell, and those who are undeniably more stubborn and ignorant, that Dwakins gets his reputation as arrogant and strident. You would need the patientce of a saint (pardon the expression) not to get annoyed with that level of nonsense.

"If scientist means 'not the dumbest motherfucker in the room,' I guess I'm a scientist, then."
-Unknown Smartass-

Crow

Its rubbish from both sides. However its worth watching just for the phrase around 48mins in, its too good.

I couldn't converse with a person like Pell to be honest, unless he learned some of the opposite arguments properly then he might be worth talking to otherwise there isn't any point as it will always arrive at defining words and the meanings in the context used.

Quote from: Gawen on April 11, 2012, 01:21:01 AM
Pell is an idiot? I quit watching after his Hitler/Stalin social Darwinism comment.

I can't believe this argument is still being used. It has been addressed time and time again not just by the secular debaters but also the knowledgeable theistic debaters and historians of the two periods, its a mute point and should be put to bed.
Retired member.

The Magic Pudding

I've heard the moderate christians talk of this, why didn't someone more able face Dawkins?
My question would be why doesn't some one more able lead the church.